uneX-Planedapps.com 

X-PlaneTM Desktop Flight Simulator Bush / Coastdog Adventures and More!

Forums

Post Reply
Forum Home > The Aircraft of EPOCH Alaska Air > New DC-3

dissy
Member
Posts: 165

This one is definitely worth a look. http://www.vskylabs.com/2017/06/the-vskylabs-douglas-dc-3-project.html

--

"If you can walk away its a good landing"

June 15, 2017 at 8:16 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr. Dare
Member
Posts: 611

Hah! You beat me to the draw, I was just going to post this. :) Looking forward to see how this one shakes out. Anyone have dealings with V-Skylabs before?  Hopefully they will have a good product with a livable DRM plan. I am right off the "must be connected to the internet so the baby can cry home to momma everytime you boot it up" variety...

--


June 15, 2017 at 8:55 PM Flag Quote & Reply

dissy
Member
Posts: 165

I have the Eurofox which is a fun aircraft, the U-15 Phoenix LSG and the Tecam P2600T light twin which is probably my most used aircraft at the moment. The quality and price are great and the aircraft are constantly updated to incorporate new x-plane 11 features. Models are dual versions in the zip file for XP-10 and XP-11

--

"If you can walk away its a good landing"

June 16, 2017 at 12:05 AM Flag Quote & Reply

ottopilot9
Member
Posts: 1027

Dissy, do they use DRM on the products you currently have? Always looking for a really good DC3. Kind of the holey grail of flight sim for me.

What builder would you compare the quality to?

--


June 16, 2017 at 9:05 AM Flag Quote & Reply

nicotum
Member
Posts: 128

They are DRM and plugins free. ;)

--

Nicola

June 16, 2017 at 12:56 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr. Dare
Member
Posts: 611

Sweet! I looked over their web site and I get a good vibe from them. I will definitely be getting this one when it comes out. Seems like a pretty good outfit from what I see so far  :).

--


June 16, 2017 at 4:19 PM Flag Quote & Reply

bc
Site Owner
Posts: 8422

Love the Tecnam and am looking forward to the DC-3 for sure. Being plugin and DRM free means my life with these craft simplifies... a very good thing :D


Cheers and thanks.

bc

--

6 strings, 9 cylinders, 2 Manx cats: Life's Good!

June 17, 2017 at 2:27 PM Flag Quote & Reply

gofigure
Moderator
Posts: 2742

JetManHuss (vskylabs) has produced many fine aircraft over the years (sim since xp-5.xx) and I'm sure his DC-3 will be great and may end up being the best one up to now.


His development at the org link: http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/forums/topic/123955-the-vskylabs-douglas-dc-3c-47-project/&_fromLogin=1

--

 

June 17, 2017 at 4:25 PM Flag Quote & Reply

sticky
Member
Posts: 676

Boy, it looks like we should be able to cobble together an EPOCH DC-3 fly-in sometime next month!  :lol:

--

sticky

"Fly the wing"

June 17, 2017 at 6:26 PM Flag Quote & Reply

gofigure
Moderator
Posts: 2742

I have not read or come across very much feed back on the VSkyLabs DC-3. I beleive the last builder update was V2.0 Aug. 13th.


Anyone have considerable flight time and could give pros and/or cons for the flight characteristics XP-10 or 11 would be most appreciated. Not purchased yet Thanks!

--

 

August 28, 2017 at 11:17 AM Flag Quote & Reply

ottopilot9
Member
Posts: 1027

Other than one very wet trip to Dallas in a 732 this is the only airplane I've messed with since it came out. I have found no cons. I don't really know how to test a model against real world performance but the designer who has time in real world DC3s has done significant testing and continues to refine the numbers. I think he is doing some eye opening work as he is just working with what Austin has programmed into the sim. He uses no plug ins. The modeling of the cockpit is above average while at this point the exterior model is just average. It is my favorite of the 'big three' DC3s. The developer is very use friendly. I doubt we will ever see a pmdg-like/study-sim DC3 in x-plane so this may be the closest for the fore-seeable future.

--


August 28, 2017 at 12:11 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr. Dare
Member
Posts: 611

Same here, no downside that I can see to this one. I have found it devilishly difficult to pry my butt out of the pilots seat on this one since I bought it. There were a couple of very minor bugs in the initial release that have been quickly corrected in the v-2 update. Over all I would say the V-Skylabs release is at least equal to the LES DC-3, and in many ways it is better. The ground handling in Expert Mode using the steering brakes and differential thrust is nothing short of perfection. No unpleasant surprises that I have found anywhere. One bit of helpful advice if (when) you decide to take the plunge, you can use the mixture axis in manual mode by moving the hardware axis levers up, and then clicking on the "auto-rich" click zone and the levers will work as a normal manual mixture control. You can also use the auto-rich/lean click zones to select the mixture mode for start/takoff and cruise flight regimes with no axis assigned. One thing that doesn't work so well is trying to use the auto modes with an axis assigned. So long as you pick one or the other, either method works perfectly.

--


August 29, 2017 at 12:12 AM Flag Quote & Reply

CptTroll
Member
Posts: 525

MrDare and ottopilot9, thank you gentlemen for your observations. Besides DHC planes, the DC-3, for me, is a passion, I have Heinz's and the LES-DC3 and now, after reading your comments, I'll have to add the VSkylabs DC-3 to my acquisition list.

-

CT

--

"What is a red lake, if it ain't red?

August 29, 2017 at 10:05 AM Flag Quote & Reply

gofigure
Moderator
Posts: 2742

Yes, thank you gentlemen for your feedback. I don't have the LES DC-3 and saw no need to purchase it after reading some negative comments about flight characteristics. I however, immensely enjoy flying the Heinz models, which I added skis to one model.


Since my brain is inflicted with procrastinitis (A mental disease. Symptoms include tardiness, lack of enthusiasm, and an overwhelming sense of laziness) :( I wiil have to wait until the meds kick in. :lol:

 

--

 

August 29, 2017 at 10:40 AM Flag Quote & Reply

CptTroll
Member
Posts: 525

Gee gofigure, I suffer from the same ailment... doctor says there's no hope...:P

--

CT

--

"What is a red lake, if it ain't red?

August 29, 2017 at 7:58 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr. Dare
Member
Posts: 611

I also suffer from that affliction, but I was prompted by my then current lack of a DC-3 to fly and found it to be the perfect remedy for what ails me. :D V-Skylabs has really capture the spirit of the plane, and barring any future release of a true study sim, I think that spot in my hanger is filled.

--


August 30, 2017 at 12:06 AM Flag Quote & Reply

sticky
Member
Posts: 676

Thanks, everyone, for relating your experiences with this one.  I've liked my Heinz DC-3, and like gofigure, wasn't about to get involved with the LES version, so I got the VSKYLABS downloaded last night.  Hope to have time to play with it today!   :)

--

sticky

"Fly the wing"

August 30, 2017 at 9:41 AM Flag Quote & Reply

CptTroll
Member
Posts: 525

Looking forward to your observations after you've had some time to play with her Sticky.


I enjoy how Heinz's flies but miss a 3D cockpit, I really like the LES DC3 panel and gauges, the tail wheel lock and even now that Rocky has helped me figure out some of the bugs, there still remains a few annoyances, not to mention my experience with the company that sold it to me. So, I'm hoping the VSkylabs offering will be the ONE.

-

CT

--

"What is a red lake, if it ain't red?

August 30, 2017 at 12:55 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr. Dare
Member
Posts: 611

It will be. I don't miss the LES plane at all any more. I really liked the 3-D cockpit in the LES plane, and while this one is different it is just a matter of taking a few minutes to get used to the new layout. Not too hard to do. I think the only feature I sort of miss from the LES plane is the fuel tank controls, and that is so minor as to not even qualify as an annoyance. I think he is working on it as well, so it may get "fixed" in an update if he can figure out how to do it without a plugin. As it is you just leave them turned on and fly, just have to remember to change the fuel level indicator source periodically so you know how much fuel you actually have since the tank source switching is "automatic" on this version for the moment. If you leave it in the position for the left main all the time (where it is by default) it will show empty for quite some time before the outer tanks run dry. The gauge appears to be accurate for all tanks as you change the 4 position switch under the fuel gauge for each tank.

--


August 30, 2017 at 1:17 PM Flag Quote & Reply

CptTroll
Member
Posts: 525

Alright then... SOLD! Do you work on commission? :D

__

CT

--

"What is a red lake, if it ain't red?

August 30, 2017 at 4:58 PM Flag Quote & Reply

You must login to post.